Types of Spousal Support

Generally, there are two types of alimony or support.

One is Post Separation Support which is monies paid temporarily to a dependent spouse on an interim basis until the court grants or denies spousal support in the case. The other type is Permanent Spousal Support. This name is misleading because after hearing evidence at the permanent hearing, the judge may in – his or her discretion – order support to be paid for a definite period of time, or order it to be paid until one of the four occurrences (below) takes place.

  1. Death of the supporting spouse
  2. Death of the dependent spouse
  3. Re-marriage of the dependent spouse
  4. Cohabitation of the dependent spouse

The judge’s decision will vary based on the facts and circumstances of each case.